Seven Nations Begin Embassy Building Projects

Abuja — Seven countries have begun building their permanent embassies during a Diplomatic Drive, a travel allocated to them in Abuja.

They are Egypt, Iraq, Kenya, Turkey, Benin Republic, Serbia and Cote d’Ivoire.

The Iraqi Ambassador to Nigeria, Mr Ali Al-Amery, pronounced a new embassy would be finished by Apr subsequent year, adding that it would accommodate a consular bureau as well.

Al-Amery pronounced a internal construction company, Sahar Continental, was doing a plan which, according to him, would cost about 3 million dollars.

The Ambassador of Serbia, Mr Rifat Rondic, gave early 2014 as a approaching date of execution of a plan that is being rubbed by Energo company, a Serbian firm.

He did not state a cost of a project.

Investigation suggested that many of a embassy projects are being by inland construction companies.

Some embassies — Ghana, China, a U.S., Niger, Angola, Sudan, Ethiopia, Cuba and Liberia — are already handling from a Diplomatic Drive.

Others are Palestine, North Korea, Brazil, Sierra Leone and Burkina Faso.

South Africa, Pakistan, Italy and a Netherlands embassies work from Constitution Avenue, an prolongation of a Diplomatic Drive.

Also reports that detached from a embassies, a area also houses a supervision agency, a church and an vehicle dealership and this has led to criticisms by confidence experts.

“If supervision has designated a area for a embassies, no other group should be situated there; it is called tactful Drive; we trust a aim is to have a series of a tactful offices in one location.

“Not usually for easy access, though also for confidence reasons,” Mr Emmanuel Ekpu, a confidence expert, said.

The UN House, pounded by a Boko Haram group in Aug 2011, is also located on a Diplomatic Drive. (NAN)

Share this post:

Related Posts


Leave a Comment